Short-Stack, Luck, and Sensing Weakness

Monday & Tuesday were great learning experiences for me!

Here’s Monday’s run-down (short-stacked and lucky): 

On Monday I learned that A does not always have medium/weak Aces in the hole – occasionally he has rockets.  He’s unpredictable, aggressive, and successful as a result.  I’ll think twice before calling his large bets pre-flop regardless of my chipstack.  The only reason I was able to win Monday’s tourney at M’s was pure luck combined with short-stack aggression and a bit of a care-free attitude. 

During my uphill battle one key play for me was mucking A5o when I was UTG with everyone else to act after me.  I thought to myself that I’d rather take my chances on a more random hand that is more likely to have 2 live cards when relying primarily on luck alone.  Anyone with an A will call me, so I’d really need a 5 in order to win the hand.  As luck would have it, my next hole cards when the BB hit me were AQ…that was when myself and all remaining players realized I was on a rush and had to think twice before entering a pot with me – despite my desperate situation.

 As it turned out, I recovered from having merely 1 BB left ($3,000 in chips) and I was forced all-in on the BB.  Many double-ups later I ended up the winner.  Miracles do happen!

 Here’s Tuesday’s run-down (sensing weakness): 

Somehow as things were winding down I ended up in the money at the final table.  Not so many up and down chip-stack swings for a change.  Once I got ’em, I generally kept ’em.  One key mistake I made was not continuing my pre-flop aggression when I was involved in a heads up hand with E.  She was the SB I think, and I made a fairly hefty raise pre-flop w/ AQ.  I expected everyone to fold unless they had a primo hand…even the blinds.  Everyone folded except E who, it turned out, had pocked 3’s.  The flop was meaningless – all low cards.  She acted first by checking, I checked.  Turn was check/check.  River brought a 3 – which she made a very small bet which I said appeared “very callable”.  She showed her set and I was steaming at myself.

Here’s why!  After the flop I should have attempted to gain information.  Her check was somewhat informative, but a continuation bet could have either found out more info or taken down what was already a pretty big pot.  By not betting, I continued to show weakness, gave her free cards, and let her hit a set which she probably wouldn’t fold no matter what.  That was a pot that I shouldn’t have been willing to walk away from and should have demonstrated that I wanted it, it was mine, and that I had a very strong hand – my pre-flop bet said that, my post flop actions should have too!  In the battle for 1st & 2nd place, my K3 did not improve against her QQ – and she took down 1st.  That’s the way the cookie crumbles sometimes.

One Response

  1. You are right, a big bet on the flop maybe would have gotten rid of me. I also could have re-raised… The turn actually paired the board, so at that point your bet would would have been too suspicious. The river gave me a full house, but I bet way too little (my mistake, I was very tired).

    Do you remember what you had on the hand before the last one (where I went all in and you folded?)

Leave a Reply

