Tuesday 9/4/07 Hold ‘Em

Off to a good start in this tourney.  A good mix of decent play, bad luck, and good luck.  I tightened up a bit and played my position a bit better.  It was definitely a “what goes around, comes around” kind of match.  R rivered me in one hand for a decent pot.  Feeling like R got the best of me again, I commented that “500 wasn’t enough to get you off that hand?”, to which he replied that “there was a lot of money in that pot”…which incidentally was COMPLETELY valid.  My bet was inviting considering what was in the pot.  While 500 is 1/10th of our starting stacks and would be considered a sizable bet at a micro level, on a macro level – considering what’s already in the pot at that point, and his odds of making a decent hand – it was a valid call, and a donkey bet/comment on my part.   Though I was tighter and played position better – I should have taken more time to properly size my bets and bet aggressively when I was in a favorable position.  My bets should not be perceived as a party invitation.  Anyway, a few hands later, I did the same to A and busted him out.  I was happy that I was lucky enough to take it down and knock out a strong opponent – but not happy about “rivering” someone.  I guess it happens to all of us and is just part of the game.  I need to learn how to handle those situations with a bit more grace when I’m on the losing side.   Imagine what it would be like in a basketball game if you were frustrated or gave lip-service to your opponent every time they scored a basket?  Nobody would play basketball – it’d just be an all out brawl after the first ball passed through the net.   As a side note, I busted R out in a similar fashion – but didn’t feel as bad about it as I did with A just becase of our earlier encounter.

Anyways, I’ve gotta remember that basketball analogy – I think it’s a good one.  The tough thing is that money is how you keep score in poker, and we’re trained to part with money only in exchange of a product or service.

On to the rest of the evening.  As soon as we went down to 2 tables I started to bleed chips.  Negativity crept into my psyche and it became a self-fulfilling prophecy.  I had some decent rebounds here and there and found myself in a position to double up on a nut flush draw.  I was up against a made straight who had an additional open-ended str8 flush draw…there went 2 of my outs.  Neither of our hands improved and I was out and on to “I heart cash games”. 

 Not this night however, as I did some more chip bleeding to the tune of an additional $50.  B’s got some money to take his daughter somewhere nice or get some last minute school supplies and R’s got some money to refill his Starbucks cup before the next 6 or 7 tourneys.

I walked out feeling like an ugly stripper who paid their employer to work that day and didn’t make enough tips to cover the day’s efforts.   Back to the drawing board!

One Response

  1. No wonder I did not remember the basketball analogy, you ended the blog with a much more colorful one.

Leave a Reply

