Quattro de Julio y Cinco de Julio

Friday – tough day.  Lots of ups/downs.  Didn’t get frustrated though.  There was a fish to my left who really just called with garbage – you couldn’t bet enough pre-flop to get him to fold.  He’d flop two pair with 63o vs AA for example.  Just insane.  Anyway, I said, “nh” after each beat so that he’d stick around.  Then I purposely played a little loose and paid off on some smaller pots so that I’d appear to be an idiot.  I’d mis-type things on purpose and excused myself to go get another beer and delared how much fun the table was.  I had everyone there thinking I was completely sh*t-faced.  I decided that when I had a monster, I’d keep over-betting the pot – and what-the-hell-do-you-know???   It worked.  They all thought I was some kind of idiot and just kept calling down and when I had the goods, they were stooped.  While I didn’t make everything back, I did make the majority of it back and had a good time turing some bad-luck into something fun and never went on tilt.   I was down for the day, but not too bad.

Today (Saturday), I’ve recouped for the most part already by 10:30am (roughly 1-day’s target earnings) and am ready for a break.  Yesterday’s blood-letting was an extremely good test of how I’ll handle losing days/sessions/hands.   And today’s bounce-back was needed and deserved.  Table/seat selection were key – as was getting up when the dynamics changed and everyone played similarly (TAG).

After yesterday, I feel like the beats in the cash games aren’t as emotionally crushing as they are in the tourneys.  A bad beat at the right time in a tourney sends you packing with no opportunity to recover.  In a cash game, as long as you’ve got the bankroll to be able to stay at the table – you can re-load, keep your cool, and show the donk’s who’s boss!

Off to go walk the neighbor’s dog and perhaps get cracking on my last remaining appraisal class.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
One Response

  1. Playing dumb = fun! There is something especially fun into making people think that you have no clue and then kicking their butts.

Leave a Reply

