The sickest call ever!!!!!!!

OK – so this guy and I had been sparring for a while.  I specifically picked him because he was generally loose.  He was aggressive pre-flop and passive post-flop.  He made suspect calls with bottom pair a lot and didn’t give me credit for a good hand a lot of times.  He’d been notorious for sucking out on the river several times during our battle.

As we played, I started to pick up on something.  When he had any kind of pair, he acted pretty quickly.  When he was bluffing – he hesitated enough that it was noticeable.   I decided I wanted his whole stack, so I’d stick around and deal with the occasional suckout and just wait for that hesitation or until I had a monster.

Here’s how it went down – I think you’ll agree it was a pretty sick call on my part!  I’d never make that call if it weren’t for the high level of confidence I had with this tell.  Wee!!

Full Tilt Poker Game #7406769329: Table Clay (heads up) – $2/$4 – No Limit Hold’em – 2:03:08 ET – 2008/07/28
Seat 1: VILLAIN ($638.60)
Seat 2: HERO ($644)

HERO posts the small blind of $2
VILLAIN posts the big blind of $4
The button is in seat #2
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to HERO [4s 4d]
HERO raises to $12
VILLAIN has 15 seconds left to act
VILLAIN raises to $40
HERO: i might call
HERO calls $28
*** FLOP *** [8s Qc Qh]
VILLAIN has 15 seconds left to act
VILLAIN bets $53
HERO calls $53
*** TURN *** [8s Qc Qh] [7d]
HERO is feeling happy
VILLAIN has 15 seconds left to act
VILLAIN bets $127
HERO calls $127
*** RIVER *** [8s Qc Qh 7d] [Kc]
VILLAIN has 15 seconds left to act
VILLAIN has requested TIME
VILLAIN bets $418.60, and is all in
HERO has 15 seconds left to act
HERO calls $418.60
*** SHOW DOWN ***
VILLAIN shows [Tc 9c] a pair of Queens
HERO shows [4s 4d] two pair, Queens and Fours
HERO wins the pot ($1,276.70) with two pair, Queens and Fours
VILLAIN adds $400

*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot $1,277.20 | Rake $0.50
Board: [8s Qc Qh 7d Kc]
Seat 1: VILLAIN (big blind) showed [Tc 9c] and lost with a pair of Queens
Seat 2: HERO (small blind) showed [4s 4d] and won ($1,276.70) with two pair, Queens and Fours

Of note:
Prior to his pre-flop raise to $40, he hesitated…I took note.
I said, “I might call” before the flop hit the board – he read that, then hesitated before he bet the flop
On the turn – he hesitated again
On the river – he hesitated AND requested time

Now I was pretty confident on this read that I had on the guy. I was nearly certain that the pause meant he had total squat.  When he had a pair – even bottom pair – in earlier hands, he bet/called VERY quickly. There was something about the way the river played out that just reeked of desperation.  The pot was equal to both of our stacks by that point – so for him it was check, I bet and take it down – or he fires and hopes that I fold.  He could only win by betting and it just stunk of that to me.  That and my confidence in his tell convinced me to call.

Sick! Totally sick!

Blogged with the Flock Browser
3 Responses

  1. Well done bro.

    It seems like you read the villain like a book and took advantage of it.

    There’s nothing like making a great call in my opinion.

    It’s better than making a great bluff.

    Nice job. Continued success Snyder!

  2. Thanks BB – usually making a call like that is out of the question and would be considered reckless. I really had a hunch from the get-go and decided to trust my instincts – regardless of the price. I’m glad I did. I’ve really only made one other call like that in my life where I was pretty sure my opponent had been on the draw and hit total air – and I called with K-high – announcing ahead of time that I thought my K was good. Turned out it was true – it was good, and it was more satisfying than a well executed bluff – perhaps because a call like that goes to showdown and becomes public knowledge – whereas bluffs are such private victories.

  3. Yikes, I thought my own recent sick call was great, that was a great call, not sure I could make it, especially considering the stakes.

    Though you have to have faith in your reads, nh.

Leave a Reply

