Partial recovery

Wow – morning mocha, hitting the reset button, and remaining unemotional about yesterday was good stuff.  On top of that admitting that the guy from yesterday, though a maniac, was able to play that style successfully turned out to be a recipe for good things so far today. 

I’ve played 4 tourneys in the last 3 hours and have taken 1st in 2, 2nd in 1, and did not cash in a 4th.  The recovery, though only partial, has exceeded what my ideal daily income would be…so that’s a step in the right direction. 

One key was an absurd amount of patience.  At one point in a 9-handed tourney we’d seen 45 hands, and I’d seen 8% of flops.  I got short-stacked, and rather than pick an A-Rag hand to shove with, I picked hands that would likely have live cards (like K9).  I was lucky enough to spike my card once (in a big-buy-in tourney) which put me on the path from worst to first.   My observation is that shoving w/ A2 when short-stacked, for example, is less profitable when you’re desperate than shoving w/ K9, J9, Q9, 78, etc.  The live cards is what I want – and I want a little bit of luck in exchange for my patience and my determination to avoid trouble. 

So – I’ve kind of come up with a little bit of an analogy for dealing with days like yesterday – tell me what you think:   Losing a big chunk of your bankroll is similar to a mechanic who’s garage has been broken into and his tools stolen.  It doesn’t mean the mechanic is out of business.  It just means he might have to do smaller jobs for a while with the tools he’s got left.  Save up to buy new tools, then take on bigger jobs as he replaces the stolen ones.  He might even become a better mechanic in the meantime when he have less to work with – he might have to get more creative and/or “return to basics” – which is almost never a bad thing.   It’s not like the mechanic was ever going to sell his tools to go on a luxurious vacation or something – he’d use the tools to make enough money to afford the vacation – without selling the tools. 

Similarly, with that bankroll – it’s not like I was going to pay myself all of that someday.   I was going to grow it and pay myself a small amount during each increment…which I can certainly still do.  It doesn’t mean I don’t care about the loss – but it does mean I understand that it’s a tool I use for my trade and that it should be respected/cared for – and that sometimes you make do with what you’ve got.  Work hard, replace your tools, take on bigger jobs, go on vacation!   :-)

Anyway – not at the finish line yet…but really, is there one?

Blogged with the Flock Browser
2 Responses

  1. I agree with you on the short stack hand selection in SNGs. I think along the same lines because if anybody is going to call me it’s likely they have an Ace and I don’t want to be dominated when I’m shoving as a shortie.

    I also agree with you that bankroll management is the key to surviving those downswings. I know the urge to make everything back in one session is strong for people who are competetive but in the long run what you did was the right thing.

    Continued success Snyde!

  2. Time spent at the table is another consideration for me when I’m short stacked in a tournament. Note that I specify “tournament” and not cash games, although one could apply to cash games as well.

    Why “waste” time (after all time is money) “waiting for k9, Q8 etc. when you’ve got an Ace? I get what you’re saying in that only a better Ace will most likely call, but if it’s been folded around to you, go all in with your Ace and hope for the best. If you lose, then go on to your next tournament.

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

